

The 16th European Conference on Antennas and Propagation (EuCAP) 27 March – 1 April 2022



IEEE Antennas & Propagation Standards Workshop

Abstract:

The terminology standards on antennas (IEEE Std. 145) and radio wave propagation (IEEE Std. 211) are important documents that guarantee the right use of accepted terms in technical papers and reports. IEEE Std. 149 (antenna measurement), IEEE Std. 1720 (near field antenna measurement) & IEEE Std. 1502 (radar cross-section measurement) prove useful when performing antenna measurements. The workshop will provide an overview of these standards that have been developed by the IEEE Antennas & Propagation Standards Committee.

Workshop outline:

The workshop will have 3 key speakers each discussing the recent developments in different standards developed by the IEEE Antennas & Propagation Standards Committee.

- 1. Introduction to Standards.
- 2. IEEE Std. 145 on Antenna Terminology.
- 3. IEEE Std. 211 on Radio Wave Propagation Terminology.
- 4. IEEE Std. 149 on Antenna Measurement.
- 5. IEEE Std.1720 on Near Field Antenna Measurement.
- 6. IEEE Std.1502 on Radar Cross-Section Measurement.

Short CVs of key speakers:

Vikass Monebhurrun is Associate-Professor at CentraleSupélec, Paris, France. He is the founder of the IEEE RADIO international conference and currently the Chair of the international committees of IEC/IEEE 62704-3 and IEEE Antennas and Propagation Standards. He serves as Associate-Editor for the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Transactions and Magazine. He was recipient of the IEC 1906 and IEEE Standards Association International awards.

Lars Jacob Foged is Scientific Director of the Microwave Vision Group. He is vice-chair of the IEEE Antenna Standards Committee. He is course organizer and Board Member of the European School of Antennas (ESOA) since 2006. He was Vice-Chair of the EuCAP conference in 2011 and 2022. In 2016 and 2017, he led the Industry Initiatives Committee (IIC) of IEEE APS. He is Board Member, Fellow and Distinguished Achievement Award recipient of AMTA.

Vince Rodriquez is Manager, Chamber Engineering and Senior Staff Engineer at NSI/MI/AMETEK and adjunct research professor of EE at university of Mississippi. He is currently secretary of the IEEE Antenna Standards Committee.

Jeffrey Fordham is Division Vice-President at NSI-MI Technologies/Ametek. He is the Chair of the IEEE Std 149 Working Group and Secretary of the IEEE Std 1720 Working Group. He is a Fellow of the Antenna Measurement Techniques Association and secretary of its Board of Directors.