Personal tools

Home » AWARDS » EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award

EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award

The “EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award for best PhD in Antennas & Propagation” (henceforth “the Award”) has been created through a donation from the Per-Simon Kildal Foundation (, initiated by Cécile Schilliger, Madeleine Schilliger Kildal and Susanne Schilliger Kildal, in memory of their husband and father, Professor Per-Simon Kildal (1951-2016). Since 2018, the Award is established by the European Association on Antennas and Propagation (EurAAP).


EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal Award 2022: Mahmoud Wagih 


The main purpose of the EurAAP Kildal Award is to keep alive Prof. Kildal’s legacy, as well as to foster the work of young researchers in the fields of Antennas and Propagation. This award recognizes an outstanding CV by PhD students or by individual who is has earned a doctoral degree between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2021. The dissertation can be in any discipline in the field of antennas and propagation.

Selection will be based on the quality and significance of the candidate's contribution to the field, and on the recommendation of the referees.

The Award, by nomination only, will be presented annually to an early stage researcher. Candidates for the award must be nominated by their PhD supervisor.

Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD

  • at an academic institution in Europe
  • in a field related to Antennas and Propagation
  • in the period from 1 January 2020 – 31 December 2021


The Award will be officially presented every year at the banquet of the European Conference on Antennas and Propagation (EuCAP). The award consists of a prize of 750 euro, which will be funded by the Kildal Family through a donation, a plaque and a free EuCAP banquet ticket. The nominators will be asked to submit the following items:

  • A filled nomination form (also available at Awards | EurAAP)
  • A letter of nomination from the dissertation advisor stating the value of the dissertation in terms of its originality, significance, and potential applications in the field of antennas and propagation.
  • An extended abstract of the PhD thesis (maximum six pages) including a list of refereed publications resulting directly from that dissertation.
  • Three representative publications related to the work of the thesis
  • At least two and no more than three supporting letters (not counting the nomination letter from the dissertation advisor), all of which must be from institutions outside the one granting the dissertation. One of the letters must be from industry. 

A committee chaired by Stefano Maci and including four prominent scientists chosen by the EurAAP Board of Directors (BoD), in consultation with the Kildal family, will be in charge for the selection.

The 2022 EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal  Award Committee is composed by: 

  • Stefano Maci (Chair)
  • Eva Rajo-Iglesias
  • Zvonimir Sipus 
  • Ahmed Kishk
  • Madeleine Schillinger-Kildal


 The committee will assign the Award on the basis of: 

  1. Originality, influence, and relevance to the field.
  2. Relevance and quality of the thesis and selected papers;
  3. Scientific standing of the candidate.

The selection will be made based only on the contributions made during the course of the PhD. The Award Committee has the option of not giving an award for any given year if not enough submissions of quality and relevance have been received.

Nomination forms must be submitted by January 31, 2022, together with the publications and endorsements requested using the nomination form available here. The Awards Committee will inform the BoD of the final decision before February 28, 2022.

All the documents should be sent via email to  (The Chair of the of the 2022 EurAAP Per-Simon Kildal  Award committee, with copy to the Chair of the EurAAP Awards Committee and the EurAAP Chair).


Prof. Stefano Maci 
Chair of the of the 2022 EurAAP 
Per-Simon Kildal  Award committee

Prof. Eva Rajo Iglesias
Chair of the EurAAP Awards Committee

Dr. Stefania Monni
EurAAP Chair


EUCAP 2022 Log in

Important Deadline

March 22, 2022

Deadline for local Poster Printing Service. See instructions for authors here


March 21, 2022

Deadline for session chairs to check the videos or posters in their sessionSee instructions for session chairs here

Deadline to notify remote participation. See instructions for remote presentation here


March 14, 2022

Deadline for authors to upload an appropriate presentation (video or poster) to EDAS. See instructions here.  


February 6, 2022

Deadline for Author registration and Early Bird registration

Register here


January 22, 2022 February 6, 2022

Deadline for final version of accepted papers extended to February 6, 2022

December 17, 2021

Notification of paper acceptance/rejection

October 15, 2021

Paper submission deadline



EuCAP2022 APP:

EuCAP2022' smartphone app provides you with the most comfortable tool for planning your participation in the European Conference on Antennas and Propagation. Browse the complete programme directly from your phone or tablet and create your very own agenda on the fly. The app is available for Android and iOS devices. To download mobile app, please visit, scan the QR code available in EuCAP web page or type 'eucap2022' in Google Play or iTunes App Store.

Works in the subway during EuCAP2022!

There are some works in Madrid metro line number 8 between stations Colombia and Mar de Cristal (bound to Madrid downtown). We recommend to use Metro line 8 from the airport, and combination of Metro lines 4 and 8 from Madrid downtown. 

Information available at:

Author registration and Early Bird registration deadline: February 6th 2022!

Registration is now open: January 13th 2022!

Notification of paper acceptance/rejection: December 17th 2021!

Paper submission deadline: October 15th 2021!

Call for papers sent: July 5th 2021!

Call for convened sessions: deadline June 20th, 2021!

July 2021: EuCAP2022 web page available!

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors
Silver Sponsors


Silver Sponsors





Bronze Sponsors


Other Sponsors

Supporting Institutions
European Microwave Association
IET logo
ISAP logo